Faculty Board Remit & Terms of Reference

Remit and Terms of Reference

The Faculty Board is statutorily responsible to the General Board, via its Education Committee, for ensuring that teaching within the Department is appropriate and of a high standard. It meets twice a term to receive information, advice and recommendations from University-level bodies and from various subcommittees within the Department.

The Faculty Board also takes account of external developments in engineering, and is expected to consider and address the recommendations and requirements of the accrediting bodies.

More detailed Terms of Reference for the Faculty Board are attached for information

Membership

a.i. Heads of Department within the Faculty (1 place)

Professor C. Durkan (EO), B

a.ii Holders of Professorships assigned to the Department (4 places, 2-year terms)

Prof A. Ferrari (23), B Prof A. Flewitt (23), B Prof F.A. McRobie (24), D Prof T.H.W. Minshall (24), E

b. Members appointed by the Council after consultation with the General Board (2 places, 2-year terms)

Dr J.M. Schooling (24), D Dr G. McShane (25), C

c. Members elected by the Faculty (10 places, 4-year terms)

Prof. I. Brilakis (26), D Dr R. Daly (23), E Dr M.S. Davies Wykes (26), A Prof J. Durrell (24), C Dr K. MacAskill (25), D Dr L. Mortara (26), E Prof S.J. Savory (23), B Prof K.A. Seffen (26), D Prof G.N. Wells (23), C Prof A.J. White (26), A

d. Members co-opted by the Faculty Board (3 places, 1-year terms)

Dr O. Burton (24), C Prof J. Lasenby (24), F Dame P. Courtice (24), CISL (**Chair**)

e. Representatives of cognate studies and holders of specified offices (3 places)

Prof C.F. Kaminski, Department of Chemical Engineering & Biotechnology TBC, Department of Materials Science & Metallurgy Prof A.Beresford, Department of Computer Science & Technology

f. Members elected by and from among the students

Undergraduate Faculty Board Representative: Undergraduate Faculty Board Representative: Mr A. Gupta, PEM Taught graduate Faculty Board Representative: Research graduate Faculty Board Representative: Mr M.S.A Siddiqui, CHR

Observers

Mrs L. Osborn, Interim Head of Human Resources Dr S.T. Lam, School of Technology Prof E. Lauga, Faculty of Mathematics TBC , Faculty of Physics & Chemistry Prof. R. Penty, School of Technology TBC, EQPO

Secretary

Mrs L. Kallioinen, Secretary to the Faculty Board

The quorum is 10 voting members. Elections are needed for categories a.ii, c & f

Source URL (modified on 25-10-23): https://teaching.eng.cam.ac.uk/content/faculty-board-remit-terms-reference